Back to Help Menu

TRAIN TRACK® Web Edition Help Manual

Security and Users

To log in to TRAIN TRACK®, each user will need to have a login name and password. A user login is automatically created for each employee you add, with the default login name and password configuration that you set up, and assigned as Exam-level users. You can select to send an automatic email notice to new employees with their login information and a link to the login page. See Configure Automatic Email.

You can edit the user accounts, change the user levels, and reset passwords. When you edit an employee record, the user login is updated. You can set the number of days until passwords expire. When users reset their passwords, they may not re-use any previous passwords. The login name is displayed on the Employee Detail screen. Clicking on the login name will open the screen to edit the user account. You can also add user logins for additional accounts not associated with an employee.

 


Default Login Name and Password

All new employees are automatically assigned a login name and temporary password based on the configuration you select. You may use their email address, employee name, or ID number. The user will be required to change their password the first time they log in. Passwords must be at least 10 characters and contain an uppercase letter, lowercase letter, number and symbol (except temporary passwords). Please note that user logins will update automatically when you update or import employee records.

To set your default configuration, follow these steps

1. From the Menu, select Settings > Default Login.
2. Select the default Employee Login.

3. Select the default Temporary Password.
4. Click Save Changes.



User Levels

Each user must also be assigned an access level. Each screen within the application is restricted based on user access level. Available user access levels are described below.

User Level
Edit Users
Edit All Records
View All Records
Edit Subordinate Records
View Own Status, Enroll in Classes, Sign Documents, Take Exams
License Required
Administrator
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Standard
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Read-Only
Yes
Yes
Yes
Limited
Yes
Yes
Yes
Exam
Yes

Administrator level may edit all records and edit users.

Standard level may edit all records, but not edit users.

Read-Only level may not edit any records.

Limited level may only view records for themselves and their subordinates. These users can add requirements, and add, edit or delete completion records.

Exam level may only log on to take exams, enroll in classes, sign documents and view their status. These user licenses are currently are FREE and you may have an unlimited number.

 


Passwords and Resetting Passwords

Each user must be given a unique user name and password. Do not allow any generic or shared user names. Passwords stored in the database are encrypted using the SHA-256 one-way encryption algorithm, which is one of the industry standard methods for generating digital signatures. Passwords must be at least 10 characters and contain an uppercase letter, lowercase letter, number and symbol (except temporary passwords). Previous passwords cannot be re-used. Passwords cannot be read from the data table, and they cannot be retrieved. If a user forgets their password, it must be reset in one of three ways:

1. Passwords may be reset by the administrator by opening the user detail screen and clicking the "reset password" link. The administrator may assign a temporary password which the user will be required to change after logging in.

2. Users can click the "Forgot Password" link from the login screen. If the user has an email address in the database, an email will be automatically sent with a reset password link.

3. Users may reset their own password by going to Users > Reset My Password. The user will be required to enter the current password, then type and confirm the new password.

 


Default Password Expiration

You may select the number of days (from their last password reset) before users will be prompted to reset their password.

To set your default password expiration, follow these steps

1. From the Menu, select Settings > Settings and Defaults.
2. Set the number of days before Passwords Expire.
3. Click "Save Changes".

From this screen, you may also set the Default Grace Period before training is due, and the Default Review Frequency before documents need to be reviewed.



Add User

All new employees are automatically assigned a login name and temporary password so that they may log in to TRAIN TRACK®. These can be their email address, employee name, or ID number (see above). The default selection will be the email address unless you have edited the selection. You may also add and edit users manually.

To manually add a user, follow these steps

Step Illustration
1. From the navigation bar, select Users > Add User. Add User
2. The Add User screen will open. Type in the user name the user will log in with. This can be the Windows login name, email address, or another unique name. User Name
3. Type in a temporary password. The user will be required to change this password when she/he logs in. Temporary Password
4. Select the user level:

Administrator: has access to all records, users, and all program functions.
Standard: has access to all records, but cannot edit users, view the audit trail, delete signed records, or set up automatic email.
Read-only: has access to the same records as the standard user, but cannot edit any records.
Limited: has access to subordinates' records. Can edit training requirements and completions.
Exam: has access to take exams, enroll in classes, and view her/his own status
.

User Level

5. Select the employee name to associate with this user. If the user is not associated with an employee, the user will not be able to take exams or view subordinates.

Employee Name
6. Leave the status set to "active" and click Add User. Add User

 

Edit User

To edit a user, follow the below steps. Please note that there is a drop down menu at the TOP of the user list that allows you to filter for Active or Inactive users, or both.

Step Illustration
1. From the navigation bar, select Users > Edit. Edit users
2. The User List screen will open. Select the user name you wish to edit. User List Screen
3. The User Detail screen will open. Edit the record (see adding users above for details) and click Save Changes. Save Changes

Delete User

 

To delete a user, follow the below steps. Please note that there is a drop down menu at the TOP of the user list that allows you to filter for Active or Inactive users, or both.

Step Illustration
1. From the navigation bar, select Users > Edit. Edit users
2. The User List screen will open. Select the user name you wish to delete. User List Screen
3. The User Detail screen will open. Click Delete User. Delete User
4. The Delete User screen will open. Click Delete. Delete

 

 

Search Users

To search for a user, from the navigation bar, select Users > Search Users. Type in all or part of the user name, first name, or last name to search for, and click "Go".

 

 


Log In and Out

In order to open the application, you will need to log in. On the login page, type your user name and password and click "Login".

Throughout the program, your user name is displayed on the top right corner of each screen.

To log out of the program, from the navigation bar, select Users > Log Out/In. Click "Logout" to confirm logging out of the program.

 

 


Forgot Password

If a user forgets their password, they may click the"Forgot Password" link from the login page. The user will need to enter their login name, and alink to reset their password will be sent to their email address. The user may then click the link from their email to reset their password. Links expire after one hour.

 


Timeout

The application will timeout after a period of inactivity and require the user to log in again. The default period is 20 minutes.

 

 


In addition to these built-in security measures, your application should be stored on a secure network, and only those with permission to use the application should have access to it through your network.